About Me

I was born in Northern California after my parents emigrated from Taiwan. I received my medical degree from Rutgers Medical School in New Jersey and then went to New York Medical College for my internship and residency, where I served as chief resident in orthopaedic surgery. After completing a fellowship in hand surgery at New York’s Mount Sinai Hospital, my family and I moved to Hawaii. Here, we love island life, enjoy outdoor activities, and surround ourselves with the wonderful people of these Islands.

About my practice

I enjoy helping others and being involved in the sciences, especially the science of the human body. This led me to become a doctor. Orthopaedic surgery is the ideal specialty for me, as it combines musculoskeletal medicine with the opportunity to help people. My greatest satisfaction is seeing my patients improve and get back to their work, physical activity, or whatever it is that they enjoy doing. Every patient deserves to be treated as if they were a family member. That means that a provider should not only give the appropriate and best treatment possible, but also take into consideration the patient's overall health, concerns, beliefs, desires, and expectations. The Hawaii Permanente Medical Group allows me to practice medicine as I believe it should be practiced. Here, physicians have the resources to provide a wide range of treatments, time to really get to know their patients, and a great team of professionals and staff. I always enjoy meeting my patients. There’s a huge diversity of people out there with their own personalities, abilities, jobs, interests, and viewpoints. It’s a pleasure to get to know them as individuals and to provide them whatever help I can. To stay current in my field, I read professional newsletters and journals, attend medical conferences, and participate in continuing medical education programs. I’m also a member of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery and the American Society for Surgery of the Hand.

How I thrive

When I’m not working, I spend quality family time with my wife and son. I keep in good shape by bicycling, fencing, golfing, and playing tennis.