providers

About Me

I grew up in South Florida, but had the opportunity to live in Atlanta for the first time while attending college at Emory. After traveling to Connecticut and Pennsylvania during my training, my family and I moved to South Carolina where I spent 20 years in private practice.Most of those last years were spent living on a small farm. My wife had a horse boarding business, and we also raised cattle and had some goats, pigs and even a donkey. It was a great place to raise our children, and we learned some invaluable lessons there. We have three sons and also a daughter who passed away at a young age.

About my practice

My training took place in a setting much like Kaiser Permanente, but I quickly found that private practice was sometimes more about the business of medicine than it was the business of helping take care of people. I had been waiting for the opportunity to arise when I could practice medicine in a way that made more sense to me. Here at Kaiser Permanente, I feel there is as much a focus on being healthy as there is on treating illness.I like my practice because I am able to see a wide range of patients from children to adults. My philosophy is that I want to treat people just as I would my family or friends. I have had the pleasure to meet people from many different backgrounds and have found most people have an interesting story to tell.

How I thrive

I have always enjoyed running and feel it is a great way for me to keep active both physically and mentally. My family even helped me celebrate my 50th birthday by completing a 50-mile ultra-marathon in Montana, which was quite an experience. My other hobbies include sailing, astronomy, playing keyboard/guitar and homebrewing.