About Me

I was born at Wahiawa General Hospital and grew up near Waimea Bay on Oahu. I’m happy to now be living and working in Hilo on the Big Island of Hawaii, which reminds me of the old days on Oahu’s North Shore.

About my practice

My dad was a family practice doctor in Haleiwa, and my mom ran his practice. Along with my two brothers, my sister, and my niece, I grew up helping out in the clinic and tagging along with Dad on house calls. Over the years, I loved watching the compassionate interactions my parents had with their patients and the community, and by the age of 12 I knew that I, too, wanted to become a physician. In medical school I rotated through every specialty and loved all of them. Family medicine is the perfect field for me because it allows me to be involved in the many specialties that I so enjoy. At the same time, I’m able to follow in my dad’s footsteps by taking care of residents in a rural community I also call home. I am a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Before moving to Hawaii, I taught family medicine residents at Cascades East Family Practice in Klamath Falls, Oregon, in its rural training program.To stay current in my field and in medicine generally, I subscribe to the journal American Family Physician, and I read every new topic that comes to me through UpToDate. Besides English, I speak a little Spanish.I love working with a well-established group of physicians serving the people of Hawaii. I believe the Hawaii Permanente Medical Group utilizes the most effective care delivery model — a collaborative, team-based, multi-specialty practice that offers treatment options based on evidence and current research. I am also very pleased with the educational, teaching, and leadership opportunities available within this organization. I connect with patients by being myself and being open with them. I find something positive in every patient encounter.

How I thrive

I am happy to be active in the ocean again! I especially enjoy surfing, paddling outrigger canoes, camping, and hanging out with my family.