About Me

I was born and raised in Detroit, Michigan and raised in the suburbs of Michigan. I attended the University of Michigan Medical School. I then went to the University of Washington School of Medicine, where I did a general surgery internship and served as chief resident in the otolaryngology/head and neck surgery residency program. I later did a fellowship at Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary in facial plastic and reconstructive surgery while completing a master’s degree at the Harvard School of Public Health. My wife and I were married in Hawaii and had vacationed here many times before the opportunity arose for us to return to the Islands to live and raise our family.

About my practice

During college I underwent maxillofacial surgery and orthognathic treatment that lasted for several years thereafter. This experience inspired me to seek a medical career in head and neck surgery, which would combine my love of people with my interest in biology and anatomy.

To keep up-to-date in my specialty, I regularly read medical journals, use online resources, and attend national and international educational meetings sponsored by my professional organizations. I also take part in local continuing medical education programs and learn from my colleagues.

My wife and I had fallen in love with Oahu, and some of our close family members were already living here part of the year. I wanted to join a medical practice where I could focus on delivering the best possible care to my patients, have access to up-to-date technology, and be surrounded by motivated and skilled colleagues who share my professional goals. The Hawaii Permanente Medical Group is the perfect fit for me.

Getting to know patients is as important as knowing about their medical conditions. I try to learn as much as I can about their families, where they’re from, what their hobbies, interests, goals, and aspirations are, and what keeps them going each day. I like to think of the patient-doctor relationship as a partnership.

How I thrive

To stay physically fit, I lift weights several times a week and do cardio exercises such as cycling, jogging, stand-up paddleboarding, and playing tennis. Outside of work I relax and re-charge by spending time with my wife and two daughters, listening to music, playing the saxophone, and being involved in all aspects of photography.