providers

About Me

I was born and raised in Elkhart, which is a small town in northern Indiana near South Bend. I stayed in Indiana for my undergraduate degree in biochemistry at Indiana University in Bloomington. I received my medical degree at Indiana University in Indianapolis. I then headed to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, for the next five years for my orthopedic surgery residency at Allegheny General Hospital. Finally, I finished my training with a fellowship in adult reconstruction at Harvard/Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. I moved to Colorado and joined Kaiser Permanente directly from my fellowship in 2003.

About my practice

My specialized fellowship training was in adult reconstruction. Adult reconstruction is the specialty focused on primary and revision total joint replacement of the hip and knee. My practice is very rewarding and brings me tremendous enjoyment as I work with patients. Total joint replacement in the right patient is a life-altering surgery that can reduce pain, increase activity and create a better quality of life. The majority of my time is devoted to clinical practice, however, I have always had some administrative roles at the hospital.

How I thrive

I thrive by spending time with my family and friends. I have been happily married for more than 20 years and have two boys and a girl. We enjoy traveling to all parts of the world to see different sites and cultures. The kids’ activities keep us very busy. In my free time, I enjoy activities that keep me active and fit. I am a third degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do and will soon be promoted to a master black belt. I enjoy running, skiing, golf, pool, rock climbing, hiking and even recently started to pole vault. I am also an avid poker player with a weekly home game.