About Me

I was born in the beautiful tropical country side of Cambodia surrounded by a loving extended family and friends. This peaceful lifestyle came to an end where, as a young boy, endured and survived the horrible and genocide of the Khmer Rouge. At the age of 19 I left Cambodia and spent almost two years in Thailand where I took the opportunity to work as a surgical room assistant . I witnessed many people who were severely wounded from gun shots and mine explosions. It was at that time that my desire to pursue a career in the medical field coalesced. After arriving in Portland, Oregon in 1983, I was anxious to begin my formal education at Portland Community College, where I earned an associate degree in medical laboratory technology. I soon found work at the Nichols Institute (now Quest Diagnostics) and during the next four years I pursued my BA degree in Science at Portland State University. I also met and married my wife Janet. Our eldest son was born in 1989 and his birth brought much joy and happiness to my life. I started medical school at Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) in 1990. Our second son was born during my second year of medical school and that brought me double happiness. Upon graduation from medical school, we moved to Northern California in order to complete three years of Family Medicine residency. We remained in Northern California where I built and established a urgent care medical practice that was combined with primary care and industrial medicine. I enjoyed the growing practice and five other internal medicine physicians working with small community of Tracy California. Shortly after our eldest son graduated from high school, we knew that it was time to return home to my family in the Northwest, so we returned to Portland in 2007, and I joined Kaiser Permanente Northwest where I continue to grow personally and professionally.

About my practice

It is my privilege to be among my colleagues and staff at Mt Scott clinic. I provide care to patients of all ages from birth to end of life. My goal is to provide the best quality care possible, and I will bring with me more than 14 years of experience ensuring high standards of culturally competent care for a wide variety of patients with diverse needs, from preventive medicine to acute and chronic illness.

How I thrive

My wife and I have enjoyed supporting our sons in their endeavors such as attending, academic and sporting events. They are now out of high school and beginning their initial education at the university. We now have more time to travel the world to visit my homeland of Cambodia. We also enjoy travels to Europe and discover new cultures. I feel joy and happiness when I participate in church and community activities. I also enjoy landscape and gardening in my yard. During the winter months I enjoy reading and writing my life history.