About Me

I was born in Fort Riley, Kansas, as a military dependent. When I was three years old, my family moved to the suburban Detroit area, where I lived until moving to Oahu in 2007. While vacationing and attending professional conferences in Hawaii, I fell in love with the beauty of the Islands and the sincere, generous spirit of the people. It became my dream to make this place my home.

About my practice

From childhood I believed that being able to make someone feel better was a wonderful gift, and I eventually decided to pursue a career in a medical field. After I became a physician assistant (PA), I began working in pediatrics and adolescent medicine. During this time, pediatricians would often consult me on dermatologic issues (I had previously worked as a dermatologic medical assistant). Eventually, I transitioned to a full-time dermatologic PA role and have enjoyed this work ever since. My professional affiliations include membership in the Hawaii Dermatologic Society (HDS), the Society of Dermatology Physician Assistants, and the American Academy of Physician Assistants. To keep up-to-date in my field, I attend one or two national medical conferences a year as well as the monthly HDS meetings. I also regularly read professional journals.I was familiar with some of the Hawaii Permanente Medical Group physicians from the monthly HDS meetings, and I held them in high regard. When I discovered that their philosophy of patient care matched my own, I was happy to have the opportunity to become a part of this group. My belief is that all people deserve to have their concerns addressed and their questions answered. All treatment options should be offered and carefully explained. I believe in treating the whole person, not just the test result. Often I treat more than one member of a family. Earning the trust of a patient is gratifying and humbling.

How I thrive

I look forward to some quiet time to unwind after a long, busy workday. Usually I take a sunset walk or watch a favorite murder mystery rerun. I jog regularly, and I love being in the ocean — sailing, snorkeling, diving, or just walking in the surf. I also enjoy music and dancing, especially Hawaiian music and salsa dancing.