providers

About Me

I was born in Washington State and soon after moved to Anchorage, Alaska. My family decided to move to Honolulu when I was 14 years old. My parents had the opportunity to purchase a sporting goods store and were excited to leave the cold behind. Moving to Hawaii from Alaska was a dream come true for a teenager who loved the beach, sun, and playing tennis. Everyone was so welcoming. In fact, my closest friends today are those I met when I first moved to Hawaii.

About my practice

I first became interested in medicine during college when I took a class that allowed me to shadow an obstetrician/gynecology physician I was fascinated with his work and wanted to see how other fields of medicine compared. In medical school I had two amazing dermatologist mentors who encouraged me to pursue the specialty. I remember they both told me they had never met an unhappy dermatologist. What attracted me most to dermatology was the visual nature of the field, and the ability to see all ages and to incorporate surgical procedures into my practice. At the Hawaii Permanente Medical Group (HPMG), I serve as chief of dermatology. What I like most about practicing with HPMG is the collegiality and communication between the providers. For example, if I see a patient with a medication-related rash, I am able to immediately send this communication via our electronic health record system to the primary care provider, who is then able to find an alternative medication for the patient. I enjoy learning about a patient's family, background, and work or hobbies, and strive to treat my patients as I would want a member of my family treated. I especially enjoy the close connection that develops with patients who have chronic conditions requiring multiple visits over time.

How I thrive

Hawaii is a wonderful place to stay fit. I like to run several times a week, hike, paddleboard, kayak, and play tennis. I enjoy spending time with my husband, who is a neurologist with HPMG, my twin sons and daughter, and extended family. We especially like hiking, picnicking, and beach time.