About Me

I was born and raised along the shores of Lake Superior in the province of Ontario, Canada. Winters were for snow skiing, but summers were all too short and much too cold for me. I did all my schooling in Canada, but when the travel bug bit me, I spent three years overseas living in Australia, Spain & England.The U.S. has been my home since 1979, and I have lived in California, Hawaii and Georgia. In 2006, I became a U.S. citizen.I appreciate the value of diverse life experiences. My travel destinations are now often local, but I find coming home has more meaning when I have been away and bring a fresh perspective with me.

About my practice

Talking with patients about being healthy includes physical, mental and spiritual health. We are all trying to find and then keep the right balance, and life is about change. I support the ideas of holistic health and provide therapy that considers all aspects of a patient's life cycle.I have always specialized in therapy with children and their families, as well as treating adults. When I joined Kaiser Permanente, I was fortunate to be able to continue working with children and expand my expertise in the areas of treating depression and anxiety for all ages. Most recently, I completed my certification for use of eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR) to help patients of all ages with trauma. The excitement of finding such a powerful and effective treatment modality at this point in my career has been energizing.

How I thrive

I exercise regularly and am trying to improve my food choices. I love to cook and try new recipes. I am also an avid reader and have added cookbooks to my reading repertoire.Spending time outdoors, whether it is gardening or walking under canopies of trees, makes me happy. I am rejuvenated by nature. Having access to the ocean and the mountains is one of the unexpected beauties of living in Georgia.My husband and I both enjoy travel and keep a list of destinations ready for the next opportunity. Combining volunteering with travel is one of my goals when I retire.