About Me

I grew up in the Philippines and completed medical school at the University of the East and a post-graduate internship at the Air Force General Hospital. I then came to the United States to do my residency and a sports medicine fellowship--in Toledo, Ohio, and Detroit, Michigan. I have been a team physician at the high school and NCAA Division I college levels, and I also have had experience with professional sports teams. I practiced family medicine in a rural setting in Coshocton, Ohio--an experience that I treasured. I am the proud father of a son and daughter. We moved to Portland primarily because of the excellent area schools but also to be closer to the outdoors. Beaverton is now home for us.

About my practice

It is my privilege to care for members of all ages, from newborn babies to the elderly. It brings me joy to see 3 and even 4 generations in a single family! Being a parent myself, and a kid at heart, I know that my personality resonates well with children and teenagers. I enjoy practicing sports medicine with adolescent and young adult athletes, as well as weekend warriors and active seniors. I believe that we can all improve our health, even with medical challenges such as diabetes, heart disease, or high blood pressure, and I am most inspired by helping members reach better health. Having practiced in a small town, I believe that getting to know my members and their interests makes our partnership more meaningful. I am proud to say that many of my members see me as their friend, as well as their advisor. Along with preventive care, I have an interest in electronic medical records and clinical documentation--specifically, optimizing provider workflows while maintaining the highest quality of care.

How I thrive

My wife and I enjoy spending time with our young children, and my life outside of work is centered on them. A lifelong athlete, I no longer do competitive triathlons but still run, bike, and snowboard, and I enjoy participating in mud runs. We have gone on many road trips, including our cross-country move to Oregon, and the kids love overnight tent-camping. We plan to learn rock climbing and stand-up paddleboarding together, and multi-day backpacking trips are on the horizon. On my own, I play both acoustic and electric guitar, and enjoy a variety of music genres, particularly old-school jazz, classic, and modern rock, folk, and progressive bluegrass. Among my other hobbies are photography, antiques, vintage Volkswagens, and expanding my CD and vinyl record collection.