About Me

I was born in Honolulu and lived in several communities on Oahu including Liliha, Punchbowl, and Hawaii Kai. I went to Mid-Pacific Institute and the University of Hawaii, where I earned my Bachelor of Science. For my medical education I went to Chicago Medical School.

About my practice

My own illness and subsequent treatment inspired me to study medicine. I experienced the good that medical professionals do for others, and I knew that I wanted to have a career that allowed me to make the same positive impact on people’s lives. I chose internal medicine for my specialty because I love the challenge of diagnosing and treating complicated conditions. This field also allows me to see a wide range of patients and to develop relationships with them over time.

To stay current in my field and in medicine overall, I use the online services UpToDate and PubMed, read various professional journals, participate in continuing medical education programs, and consult my colleagues in different specialties. My memberships in the American Medical Association and the American College of Physicians, organizations that are educational in nature, also provide me access to information on the latest research and treatment recommendations.

My decision to pursue my internal medicine residency at Kaiser Permanente was based on the organization’s emphasis on primary care and on the enthusiastic recommendation of the program’s current residents. It’s a pleasure to be back home among the diverse communities in which I grew up. I even get to use my Cantonese now and then!

I always try to relate to the concerns and experiences that my patients share with me. My philosophy of care is to be kind and respectful and to ensure that all of their needs are attended to.

How I thrive

To de-stress and stay in good physical condition, I run five miles a day before work. I tell my wife all my problems, and I take time out to watch movies. I also enjoy being with family, participating in various sports, watching sporting events, hiking, dining, shopping with my wife, and traveling.