About Me

I was born in Glendale, California and raised in Southern California. My wife and I have always enjoyed coming to Hawaii on vacation, and when the opportunity to move and work here presented itself, we jumped in with both feet. My mom was a nurse, and both of my parents come from cultures that emphasize hospitality. Practicing as a physician in Hawaii perfectly blends those elements of my upbringing.

About my practice

Medicine was the only profession that really interested me growing up. I enjoy learning how and why things work, and the human body is the most fascinating subject of all. Everything about orthopaedic surgery appeals to me. For example, I like that treatment and recovery often have concrete solutions with specific time frames. And helping people return to their pre-injury activities is extremely satisfying.I am a fellow of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. My research has been published in the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery, the Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma, and in other professional journals. These studies address the accuracy of diagnosing orthopaedic issues. To keep up-to-date in my field and in medicine generally, I use certain smart phone applications, Internet resources, and medical journals. I also attend one or two medical conferences each year.The team approach to health care that the Hawaii Permanente Medical Group uses is one of the reasons that I was attracted to this practice. This approach is consistent with my personal philosophy of patient interaction; that is, I strive to work in partnership with my patients by discussing their conditions with them and reaching educated decisions on treatment plans.I look forward to all patient encounters and the variety of problems and solutions we work through together. I enjoy finding out what makes my patients tick so we can establish some common ground and build a meaningful relationship from there.

How I thrive

To stay fit, I enjoy endurance cycling, bicycle racing, paddle surfing, hiking, and reading. In my leisure time I also enjoy spending time outdoors with my wife, my three children, and my three dogs.